A- A A+

Our Mission

We are community leaders and advocates who collaborate with the Pierce County Library System.

We develop trusting, enduring relationships with community members, businesses, and organizations; raising private funds and investing them in the Library’s strategic priorities to nurture and boost the human potential required to thrive in today’s knowledge economy.

We foster innovation to ensure access for all and inspire lifelong learning, for a thriving, diverse Pierce County, now and in the future.

Board of Directors


  • Teena Ward Hyde, President – Community Volunteer
  • Wendy Colebank, Vice President – Community Volunteer
  • Esmeralda Switzer, Secretary – Sea Mar Community Health Centers
  • Linda Tieman, Treasurer – Community Volunteer


  • Reji Kumar – Microsoft
  • Elizabeth Lufkin –  Community Volunteer
  • Travis Mahugh – Gordon Thomas Honeywell
  • Kathryn McCarthy, Past President – Tacoma Public Schools
  • Barbara Nelson – Holland America Lines
  • Mark Pinto – Windermere Chambers Bay
  • Tim Rhee – KeyBank
  • Thalia Soliman – On Q Financial
  • Eli Taylor – J.P. Morgan Chase

Foundation Staff

  • Lauren Angelo – Grant Writer and Prospect Research Associate
  • Dean Carrell – Director
  • Christina Greene – Major Gifts Officer
  • Katie Jay – Development Assistant
  • Alana Nodell – Annual Giving and Donor Engagement Associate